Another Kind of Beauty

The morning after I returned from PEI, I opened my eyes to a benediction.  My backyard was bathed in an otherworldly glow. The leaves, once a mere red and yellow, had become ruby and saffron jewels set in a flawless azure sky.  It was breath-taking.

I considered getting up to take a photo, but I didn’t want to miss one moment and I wouldn’t have been able to capture it anyway.

A couple of days later, I went for a hike with a friend in Nose Hill Park.  We crested a hill and both stopped in awe at the sight of the rolling landscape and the mountains in the distance.   This time I did have my camera, but all I did was prove to myself that such views are uncapturable.

See?  Uncapturable.  I’ll try again.

Anyway, my point is that as I was gearing up to mourn the loss of my PEI paradise, I was reminded that there are many different kinds of beauty.  And a lot of it is in my own back yard.

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

