The Illustrations are Done!

I picked up my illustrations from Elsie yesterday. They are beautiful! She has perfectly captured Leaf’s story.

Here’s a sneak peek of the cover.

Elsie took my vague swirly lines and “I dunno, something with a leaf, maybe?” ramblings and created this perfect encapsulation of what Leaf is all about. It still gives me goosebumps!

This morning Elsie and I took the illustrations to my son’s class. Elsie explained her creative process from the moment I first approached her to the completion of the last picture. And then we unveiled the paintings. The students were just as blown away by them as I was. It was so neat to hear the collective sigh when they saw the moonlit winter scene – it was the exact same sigh I gave when I first saw it yesterday.

Here’s a piece of that picture (my scanner won’t fit the whole image).

It is sigh-worthy, isn’t?

I’ve been working with Georgie Perigny’s Grade 6 class since December.

Let me just pause here to tell you about Georgie Perigny. We are so blessed that Jacob has had the opportunity to be in her class this year. She is a passionate, engaging teacher who is constantly striving to bring learning alive for our children. She has invited more speakers into to her class in the last 7 months than Jacob has experienced in his education to date. Those adults, often people the children know from the community, help to ground their learning in the “real” world. Our children hit the jackpot when they were placed in her class this year. Thank you, Georgie!

Back to the story – I’ve been explaining my self-publishing process and working with the students as they prepare their own stories for publication. We started before the Christmas break with a session on how writers get ideas. It was suggested that they keep their ears and eyes open and pay attention to their “I wonder” and “what if” thoughts over the holidays to see what ideas might want to become stories. They started writing when they got back in January and last Friday, after a few edits, were finally ready to start illustrating their stories.

So Elsie’s announcement that she was done was perfect timing for me and for the class.

I’m so glad I was able to share this whole process with Georgie’s students. (It’s a special bonus that one of them happens to be my son.) It will be delightful to lug in a carton of hot-off-the-press books, open it with great ceremony . . . and do the happy dance together.

So . . . only three more steps to go.

1. Scan the paintings onto a disk.

2. Send the paintings and the text to Lori Nunn, my book designer in Canmore.

3. Send the completed book design to my printer, Blitzprint.

Guess I better think about ordering the cake for the book launch!

What do you think? Chocolate or vanilla?

This entry was posted in Self-publishing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Illustrations are Done!

  1. Yvonne says:

    Wow! How beautiful and how exciting. And neat that you could share with the kids all the way through the process. Congratulations!

    And I think spice cake is more appropriate.

  2. maxinespence says:

    Thanks, Yvonne. Spice cake, hmmmm. I’ll have to think about that.

  3. Louann says:

    Sighhhhh indeed! How beautiful. I can’t wait to see the book. Chocolate as decadent as you can get for sure. Have I told you lately: “YOU ARE AMAZING”!

  4. maxinespence says:

    Awww shucks, thanks Louann. You’re pretty amazing yourself. I can’t wait to see the book either! So we’re at spice – 1 and chocolate – 1. We’ll see how the battle of the cakes turns out. Thanks for leaving a note. They’re always fun to read.

  5. Linda says:

    There done??? What a wonderful surprise when you thought they would take longer. What talent this artist has. They are beeeeautiful! I can’t wait to see the completed book!! And how incredible to be able to share this whole process with Jacob and his class. I feel blessed to have a friend with so much talent, and that we get to share the ride with you!

    And I vote CHOCOLATE, of course!

  6. maxinespence says:

    Yes, it was a wonderful surprise to get the call and, double yes, she is very talented and I am triply blessed to have so many friends supporting me on this journey. Thank you, Linda, for being one of those friends.

    Chocolate pulls into the lead.

  7. Chris Burns says:

    Hey there, greetings from Vancouver! The illustrations are winsomely-lovely-evocative-intriguing – I am so excited for you!

    Best and Warmest from Chris (and Gord, Jasmine and Ben)

  8. maxinespence says:

    Hey there, Vancouver! So nice to hear from you! I’m glad you like the illustrations – they are all that and more!

  9. Laura says:

    The illustrations are absolutely beautiful!! (and I vote for white cake)

  10. maxinespence says:

    Thanks, Laura! And white cake is now on the board – I might have to draw out of a hat.

  11. Jordan says:

    i vote white cake and your book looks amazing cant wait to read it to my brothers

  12. jordan says:

    Yes we have met I’m a kid going to Didsbury High, Gabes friend.

  13. maxine spence says:

    Aha! I’ve got you now Jordan! I’m flattered that you’re following my blog. I hope you’ve been enjoying it and I hope you’ll be able to join us for the Book Launch. It’s June 25th at 3:00 at the Didsbury Library. Maybe you can bring your brothers for some cake!

  14. jordan says:

    Ok, I’ll be there but i may be a bit late.

  15. maxinespence says:

    Wonderful, Jordan! I look forward to seeing you then (if not before).

Leave a Reply

