Look At That Face!

In the continuing spirit of sharing what I love, I’d like to introduce you to my newest family member:

Isn’t he great?

I first met him last July when Elsie and I did an art show/book signing at Different Strokes Art Gallery in Olds. He was created by local artist, Monica Robinson, and she called him ‘The Smartest Guy Around.’

We hung out for a while that night and he charmed me so much that I made a point of looking him up whenever I was in the in the neighborhood. I debated taking him home with me, but found all sorts of reasons to just leave him there and then a month or so ago I popped in for a visit and he was gone!

My heart sank.

I was bereft.

(Bereft. Now that’s a word. I’m not even sure if it works in this context but it feels like it should so I’ll go with it.)

I was bereft.

When I found my voice, I asked Debbie about him and she pointed to the back of the Gallery. There he was, sitting on the piano in all his wild-hair glory.

I decided then and there that I could not live without him, so I put down a deposit and now, a month or so later, he is sitting on MY piano, ready to lend a discriminating ear when Gabriel sits down to play his music.

I know he looks like Albert, but his name is Alfred. He is the much shyer, but equally brilliant, younger brother of the man who brought us E=mc2 and I am delighted to have his wise presence overlooking our cozy fireside evenings.

Thank you Monica Robinson for creating this splendid character.

I’m almost afraid to go back to the gallery.

Who knows what other love affairs will develop?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Look At That Face!

  1. Yvonne says:

    He is delightful! I see you are bringing things joyous and beautiful into your space. Good for you!

  2. Yup! He makes me smile every time I look at him.

Leave a Reply

