Apple # 31

My latest apple took me for a trip down memory lane.

It all started when I got home from grocery shopping and realized that the 10 pack of dish towels I thought I had tossed into the cart was actually dish cloths. I already had  a plethora of 14 x 14 cloths, but had destroyed the bag when I ripped them open so I couldn’t return them.

What was I going to do with all those dishcloths?

An image of my beloved Grandma flashed through my head. (No, my grandmother did not have a lightbulb-shaped head – thinking of her, gave me the idea for my next apple.)

Besides being Grandma of amazing breakfasts, dinners, suppers and snacks and Grandma of the book and plant-filled living room and Grandma of the goose bump enducing polar bear rug and Grandma of the huuuuuge garden and soap bubble blowing and tinkling chimes in the sunporch — oh, so many wonderful memories of my Grandma  — and Grandma of afternoon popcorn and Scrabble, she was also the Grandma who taught me how to embroider.

This is for you, Grandma Kristensen.

I miss you.

Apple # 31

Title: Apple of my Childhood

Medium: Embroidery Floss on a Surplus Dishcloth

So now, when I’m engaged in that most mundane and endless of household chores, the apple can wink up at me from the soapy suds and remind me that creativity is everywhere. Instead of railing against the daily round of household duties, I can use the dreamy Artist Mind this repetitive chore engenders to sink into the NOW moment where all good ideas live and give them the space to bubble up in their own way and time.

Hmmm . . . maybe I should paint an apple in the bottom of the toilet bowl.

That would give my guys something to aim for

which would help reduce the size of the area around the toilet needing to be scrubbed

which would eliminate another chore

but would also result in the demise of another ‘opportunity’ to drift into Artist Mind

oh, never mind

ps. let me know if you need a dishcloth

This entry was posted in 100 Apples and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Apple # 31

  1. Shawna says:

    Alan says “thanks” for the dishcloth. He’ll get lots of use out of it!! 🙂

  2. MyHrt says:

    With tears spilling over onto my cheeks, I smiled as I read this post. My heart is warm with those same memories, the same lessons… thank you for this beautiful post, Max and a moment to think back and treasure a lady and a gentleman who only grew more beautiful as their days grew in number. I love you, your words, your magic, how you remind me of Grandma… 😀

    Ang

  3. Oh, Angela – we were lucky, weren’t we? I’ve got a few tears spilling over myself at your words. Thank you.

  4. Laura says:

    I’ve never minded doing dishes; there’s something wonderful about transforming something dirty into something clean and useable again! I really like using your special apple dishcloth–if you have more to give away, I’d love another one!

Leave a Reply

