Crime Scene!

After five wonderful days skiing with family and friends,

I returned home to a crime scene.

I was busily unpacking, looking forward to the Turkey Supper that awaited us at the Lutheran Church once we were all settled in again.

En route from my bedroom to the kitchen,

something on the living room floor caught my eye.

My stomach gave a small, warning lurch.

I entered the living room to examine it more closely,

but my eyes had already jumped ahead to a slightly more bloody spot on the carpet.

Then I looked up.

And my blood froze in my veins.

Alfred!

Not wanting to believe my eyes, I looked over at the spot on the piano where Alfred usually sat.

It was empty.

You remember how delighted I was to have Alfred come into my life.

To see him lying there so crumpled and small was such a shock that I stood, unable to move, for a very long time.

When I finally gathered enough courage to approach the chair, I gently moved his inert body to one side. His clothes were unkempt, his hair even more disheveled than usual. I was barely breathing as I surveyed the damage, but what I saw on the chair beside his body brought me to my knees.

One entire section of his amazing ‘do’ had been torn out by the roots.

Noooooooo!

I knew instantly who the culprit was.

And I didn’t have to look far to find her.

She was sitting by the rocking chair, smiling smugly at my distress.

She wouldn’t stand still long enough for me to get a proper mug shot.

But all you have to do is look at her.

Tell me that isn’t guilt written all over her face.

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Crime Scene!

  1. Marina says:

    Ok, I know he’s special to you, but honestly, this made me laugh out loud. I hope you get to the same state after he’s had a follicle transplant or something.
    (you might have been mad/sad but you were still funny)
    Mj

    • maxinespence says:

      Still not sure how I’m going to replace that hunk of hair. Alfred’s resting comfortably (and safely) in my office until I can find a chunk of time to perform the surgery. I’m glad you got a chuckle out of it, Marina. I’m still not there.

  2. Lorienyoga says:

    Naughty naughty naughty kitty! Have you been able to repair Alfred?

    • maxinespence says:

      Not yet. I think I’m avoiding it. Haven’t wanted to look too closely in case the damage is even worse than I think it is. Perhaps this weekend I’ll give Alfred some attention.

  3. Ben says:

    Hmm…maybe she’s feeling a little jealous. I know my rabbit will sometimes destroy things if I don’t pay her any attention.

  4. maxinespence says:

    We could make a nice blankey out of the cat and give it to Alfred.

    • maxinespence says:

      Actually this comment is NOT mine. Stephen chose this blogpost to make his inaugural comment and, since I’ve done some of my posts on the family computer and had (apparently) not logged out, his comment looks like it came from me. Although, I have to admit, when I first read it there was a savage part of me that surfaced with a resounding YES! I’ve calmed down somewhat since then.

  5. Laura says:

    Awww, just look at her cute face–is she forgiven?

  6. maxinespence says:

    Cute schmute! Nope, she is not forgiven. And it will NEVER be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

