Wrapping Up Month #3 of Extreme Self-Care

Well, the biggest thing I learned in this month of Extreme Self-Care is that I can’t trust my gut.

If you recall, the second step Cheryl Richardson suggests in her book,

(after Step One of buying some time) is to do a gut check to see if I would really, truly like to do whatever it is that’s been requested of me.

 Rarely is the answer a resounding ‘no.’ But when it is I am getting much better at listening and gracefully declining. The problem is that my gut gets excited about all sorts of things and even after I’ve taken some time to think about a request, it will still tell me to go for it.

My gut needs a secretary, preferably a cranky, no-nonsense one who is able to look deep into her calendar and anticipate traffic snarls. That secretary needs to sit on my ever-ready gut whenever it gets too enthusiastic about things because no matter how excited I (or my gut) gets about a, b or c possibility, there are still only so many hours in the day.

There will come a season in my life when my time will be pretty much my own to do with as I choose, but for now I have two teenagers involved in all manner of activities and, for the health and safety of everyone concerned, extra obligations in the month of June need to be avoided at all costs. Actually, they both play soccer so let’s include the month of May in that.

I still abhor disappointing people, but just last week I was able to bring myself to cancel out of several obligations. Well, they weren’t so much obligations as things I said I would do for or with other people and I have this thing about doing what I said I would do AT ANY COST. In the past, I would have soldiered on and this morning would have found me . . . well, I wouldn’t have been found. I’d be curled up somewhere, useless as an amputated head. It appears that I might be finally ‘getting’ that my personal well-being is too high a cost to pay.

So, I learned a few things this month. I hope you did, too. I will strive to continue improving my skills in the ‘just say no’ area of my life, but for now I’m relieved that it’s time to move on to another area of extreme self-care.

Which starts tomorrow.

But my secretary is reminding me that my gut got excited about selling hot dogs on Canada Day as a fundraiser for our upcoming Rock Concert. So I’ll be busy tomorrow.

We’ll check in Monday, instead.

Until then, Happy Canada Day!

This entry was posted in Sanctuary in a Crowded World. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wrapping Up Month #3 of Extreme Self-Care

  1. Kathleen Windsor says:

    Methinks it’s not your gut that needs a secretary, it’s your heart. It’s too big! Love ya anyway! 😉

  2. That’s a nice way of putting it, Kathleen. Thank you!

  3. Ang says:

    Me thinks Kathleen is correct…

    • maxinespence says:

      Thanks, Ang! By the way, we’ve got part one of the video done. We need to do it in pieces since we rarely seem to be all home at the same time these days. Hope to have it finished up soon.

Leave a Reply

