Creativity, anyone?

I love color.

I love playing with color.

I love creating colorful things.

And I never take the time to do it.

So, I have made a commitment to myself to spend more time creating, preferably with lots of vibrant color.

It appears, however, that I will not create just for the fun of it so I have come up with a way to trick myself into creating.

I make things for others.

My first creation this year was for my husband. About a year ago, he started working from his home office. There are lots of benefits to this arrangement . . . and a few things to work out.

Things like kettles set to boiling on the kitchen stove for coffee and then forgotten about when he is caught up in phone conversations in his office.

So, for his birthday, I bought him an electric kettle with an automatic shut-off, that he can keep in his office. And, in order to make the gift a titch more personal, I painted a tray to hold all his coffee-making supplies.

IMG_0705

It was so much fun to take the images and elements and motifs I have collected over the years and hidden away in my scrapbook for ‘some day’ and finally do something with them.

And I felt very pleased with myself that, although I was using someone else’s design as inspiration, I didn’t trace them. I actually drew them freehand.

I heard once that it is a good thing to copy someone else’s style (literary or visual) until you develop enough confidence to create your own. ‘Some day’ I might get to that point, but for now it was tres fun to play around with these ones.

I don’t know what kind of an effect this tray has on Stephen during his daily coffee making, but it makes me smile every time I walk into his office.

And that’s always a good thing!

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creativity, anyone?

  1. lorien says:

    Brilliant Maxine! I was just talking yesterday about all the gorgeous art supplies I have la gushing in a box down in the basement. They keep whispering to me to create something, to play, to enjoy color but their whispers are usually ignored to attend to the louder cries of babies, kitties, husband, laundry, dishes, etc. I love how you tricked your mind into allowing yourself some creative space. I need to find such a trick!

  2. maxinespence says:

    Let’s go for LA GUSHING. That sounds like waaaay more fun. You know – you probably need to clean up those arts supplies. Sort and purge and — hey! — why don’t you pull out one box and get to work cleaning it and purging what you no longer need and . . . well, you better check to see if those acrylic paints still work the way they’re supposed to. Ha! Tricked!

Leave a Reply

