Wrapping up Month #9 of Extreme Self-Care

Well, as usual, this month’s assignment took me to places I never would have imagined.

In her book,

Extreme Self-CareCheryl suggested that we make a list of five ways we would like to take care of our physical bodies over the next few months.

Sounds pretty straightforward – doing stuff for our bodies – but what I found, once again, is that there is so much in this world beyond the physical realm and those energies impact our bodies and can help us to take care of them, if we pay attention.

If you are a person who believes that what is real is limited to what you can see, touch, taste and smell, you might want to spend the next few minutes doing something other than reading this.

I have come to believe there is so much more going on in the world than what our five senses provide us with. I believe we are surrounded by ‘unseen helping hands,’ we are profoundly affected by energy and if we learn to listen and follow those energies . . . wowza.

So the 5 things on my list for this month’s homework were:

exercise

massage

menopause

teeth

sex

We might as well start with the one that has, no doubt, piqued your interest the most. (WHAT? She’s going to talk about s – e – x?) It was #5 on my list, but was the first area to receive attention this month.

I’m not going to go into the why’s or wherefore’s of this making my Top 5, but I don’t think I’m going very far out on a limb when I say that I believe the vast majority of people on this planet (female and male) think there has to be something more to sex than what we’ve been taught.

Ha! That’s a good one. We haven’t actually been formally taught anything – we just absorb the (mis)information from what is said, and especially what is left unsaid but insinuated and repressed and distorted around us, as we grow up. Not too much healthy information to choose from there.

Anyway . . . back to the homework.

I’ve been making a practice of gratitude for a few months now and I believe that practice is what led me OM. I’m not going to go into all the juicy details (or even tell you what OM stands for – it is a pretty private thing, after all), but if you’re intrigued, listen to this Ted talk or check out this book and start exploring for yourself. It is life changing stuff!

Now, for teeth (not nearly so interesting, I know). Again, I’m not going to go into the long and sordid details of my dental history, but there are issues related to a lack of saliva production which need to be addressed and I also need to get a second opinion on how to proceed with caring for my teeth. This is compounded by the fact that I intensely dislike  (I’m trying to eradicate the word hate from my vocabulary otherwise I would be using that word) anything to do with sitting in that instrument of torture called a dentist’s chair.

As for menopause – I needed to do some more research and make a decision concerning hormone replacement (preferably bioidentical hormones) because this peri-menopausal state I’ve entered is . . . an interesting time. Something to smooth out the journey would be good.

And lastly, exercise and massage.

I joined a workout facility called Curves in December and have developed a nice rhythm of that workout on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. My goal, since December, has been to supplement this workout by doing yoga at home on Tuesdays, Thursdays and one day of the weekend.

I still haven’t done it.

I write it faithfully on my day’s to-do list, but I never get around to it.

Excuses abound.

The yoga classes I want are full.

I’m not sure I have time for them anyway.

All my yoga cd’s are an hour+ long. I can’t (read won’t) find that time during the day and when evening rolls arrives I opt for vegging with my family rather than rolling out the mat.

If only I had a shorter CD yoga program.

My friend, Yvonne, an amazing yoga teacher right here in my home town, (and who finally has a website) has done a CD with 20 minute practices on it, but she was sold out of them so I’m out of luck.

Woe is me.

As for massage, I know the benefits of this and lately my body has been crying out for some TLC in that department (especially after starting to work out regularly). I’ve also been feeling the effects of all my computer time in my neck, shoulders and on down to my hip (I know, Yvonne, yoga would really help me with this as well). But for some reason, I could not bring myself to make a massage appointment.

I’ve learned over the years that if I’m dragging my feet about doing something, even if it’s something that will be great, that there’s a reason. Usually that reason is that I don’t have enough information yet.

So . . . here’s the magic that happened during my whirlwind-care-for-my-body month of Extreme Self-Care homework.

First came the amazing OM workshop which started taking care of item #5 almost immediately.

Then, one morning soon thereafter, riding a gratitude high after my Curves workout, I stopped in at the drug store on my way home and was drawn to scan the bulletin board (which I never usually take the time to do) where I saw an intriguing poster offering something called Access Consciousness. There were all sorts of benefits associated with this process, but the tag line that grabbed my eye was, “At worst, it will feel like a great massage and in the best case scenario, your whole life will change.”

I knew immediately that this was the ‘massage’ I’d been waiting for. I went home and was able to make an appointment that very afternoon.

It was . . . intriguing. I spent the entire session quizzing the practitioner, Linda Adamowski, about this whole process.

The founder of Access Consciousness says, “It’s weird, wild and wonderful. Wanna give it a try?”

It IS weird and my results have been pretty wonderful.

In the days following the treatment, I noticed that I was thinking more clearly, I could articulate myself and even tell stories fluently (believe me, that was huge–I can write, but I often trip over my own tongue), I was waaay more focused and more efficient. I seemed to have more will to do the things that needed doing. It was almost like they got done without me really having to think about it – maybe that’s what happens when the procrastination muscle is disabled.

Anyway, my experience was so intriguing that I did the unthinkable and made another appointment the following week!

One of the points made in our conversation during that session had to do with deserving levels and I realized that, as cool as this Access Consciousness stuff was, it really didn’t equal a hands-on-sore-muscles massage so I made an appointment for a real massage. This was the absolute height of decadence!

After my massage, I looked up from writing my oh-my-that-was-wonderful-thank-you cheque at the front desk and saw Yvonne’s yoga CD’s on a shelf. She wasn’t sold out after all!

I brought one home.

The next day, still riding the gratitude wave, I took a walk downtown to run errands and was pulled into a local store. (Really. It felt like I was literally pulled into the store.)

White Raven is filled with all sorts of beautiful things. I headed to the jewelry (dangerous at the best of times) and overheard the owner telling a customer about these intriguing pyramids (hmmmm. I’m making a connection here. All the things that sound intriguing to me lead to interesting outcomes) that were on the sales counter. She couldn’t keep them in stock. They held something called orgone energy that helped to move chi (aka – energy). She had made more sales in the two days she’d had them in the store than in the months preceding their arrival.

Hmmm. Intriguing. (There’s that word again!) She had two left. I picked one up to look at it. And I couldn’t put it down. Really. I studied it from all angles. It was kind of cool looking. Nice colors.  I walked around the store with it nestled in my hand and was surprised at how reluctant I was to even hand it over to another woman who was wanting to have a look.

It ended up coming home with me.

On my way home, on a whim, I popped into the library (which was pointless, really, because it was five minutes to closing time, but I followed my whim anyway). As I was checking out some magazines, I noticed a book on the shelving cart behind the counter. It was called Ageless: The Naked Truth About Bioidentical Hormones.

I’m not kidding!

When I got home, I sat down with the book (and my pyramid) and found the information I needed to make my peri-menopause decision.

I carried my little orgone energy pyramid with me from room to room all night and then put it in the middle of a table in my front entrance.

The next morning I got up, went downstairs, and immediately starting moving boxes out of the hallway and into other less obvious places in the house. I didn’t even put my robe on. I worked away at it in my pajamas until both the main downstairs hallway as well as the hallway to my office were cleared of boxes and boxes and boxes of books.

This is a job I’ve been trying to bring myself to do for months. This was a Sunday morning that is usually reserved for sleeping in and plenty of slothful moments of quiet reflection. This box-moving activity was definitely an abberration.

BUT . . .

that morning it felt like the most natural thing in the world to do and so I did it

AND . . .

every time I walked downstairs after that, it felt like I was walking through a vast savanna of space and possibility. I could feel the energy moving unobstructed through the downstairs. (My husband continues to comment on how great it feels to walk down those hallways.)

Ant then I opened my office door at the end of the beautifully uncluttered hallway.

It was like hitting a brick wall (energetically speaking).

But not for long!

My office floor is now cleared of clutter piles. (And we all know how long they have been sitting there.) Which now gives me plenty of room to do my new 20 minute yoga CD.

And my new box-free hallway provides the perfect space for the oh-so-replenishing ‘legs up the wall’ pose.

You’d think that would be enough, wouldn’t you?

Well . . . the next day I got an email that there was space available in the one and only yoga class that would fit my schedule.

So this week, I had a yoga class on Tuesday and some legs-up-the-wall time on Thursday and I’m looking forward to trying out my new yoga CD in my newly energy-renovated office this weekend.

So, let’s see. Everything on my list has been dealt with without really doing anything. By just following the energy. Granted, my envelope stash of allowance money for special treats is empty, but, then again, I enjoyed an entire month of special treats (which continue to ‘treat’ me day after day).

I guess my teeth are still needing to be dealt with. But Cheryl did say we had several months to tackle our list. And I’m hopeful (maybe naively so) that this Access Consciousness stuff will bring my body back to a healthy balance that will create more enzyme-happy saliva which will definitely help my teeth.

And maybe my pyramid’s mysterious orgone energy will help me dance around my resistance to making those dental appointments.

There. That was quite a month!

I wonder what Month #10’s Extreme Self-Care homework will bring?

We’ll have to wait until Monday to see what it is.

Until then, have a wonderful energetic weekend!

This entry was posted in Sanctuary in a Crowded World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wrapping up Month #9 of Extreme Self-Care

  1. Yvonne Werkmann says:

    I love it Maxine! I love how the Universe is working for us even when we doubt it or don’t see it at first.

    Hugs,

    Y

  2. MJ says:

    Wow …. that was quite a joyful story – thanks. I’m so glad you’re a writer – and speaker – and do-er!

  3. Aw shucks. Thanks, Marina.

Leave a Reply

