And sometimes our artistic creations turn out even BETTER than planned

This is the view from my bedroom window.

IMG_0803

This is a rainy day picture because I didn’t seize the moment to snap a shot the other day when the sun was streaming in the window so beautifully, but that’s beside the point because what I’ve been especially enjoying lately are the lovely lace curtains framing the view.

They add a soft, feminine touch–just as I envisioned they would–to the utilitarian green curtains that I bought in a hurry ten years ago because the sun was beating in on our bed and eating away at the bedspread.

As with so many other things in my life, it seems, it took me ages to move from idea to action. Years to buy the curtains (cheap, cheap at Ikea). Then a few more months slipped by when I realized they wouldn’t work on the current curtain rod. Then I hit upon a sort-of plan but still more weeks went by, as I avoided cutting off the few inches that needed to be removed from the bottom of the curtains.

Scissors always give me pause. Their slash is so . . . final.

A few weeks ago, however, I finally made the commitment to finishing the job. Gay and Katie Hendricks, two amazing teachers of conscious living, stress the importance of expressing ourselves creatively, even if it’s only ten minutes a day. They insist that a mere ten minutes–every day–of following your creative urges can change your life in a very good way!

Hmmmm . . . there’s some incentive.

I looked at what remained to be done to fulfill my curtain vision, divided the tasks into ten minute segments and committed myself to doing them. That, my friends, is the most important element – commitment.

So . . .

in one ten minute segment, I measured and re-re-re-remeasured the curtains and (gasp) cut off the bottom few inches.

And, because they are lace, I discovered the raw edge looked just fine so I saved myself another ten minutes when I decided not to hem them. (Something I could not have known without taking that dreaded first cut. Funny how action–any kind of action–reveals all sorts of things, sometimes even the fact that it’s not necessary to do something I’ve been dreading.)

Another ten minute segment was spent screwing eyeholes into the wall behind the curtain rod.

And it took another ten minutes to string the curtains on the wire and hang them.

Thirty minutes over three days after y e a r s of putting it off. Yikes!

And now, every time I walk into my bedroom, my heart gives a little heel- click of delight, especially when the trees outside the window are chatting in the breeze and the sun is shining through the dappled leaves. My bedroom feels all romantic and cozy.

Just like I knew it would.

Five years ago when I had the idea.

Oy!

Remember those cushions I mentioned a little while ago?

They’re next!

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And sometimes our artistic creations turn out even BETTER than planned

  1. Candy Scott says:

    oh my how this has inspired me! I so recognize my own inertia when it comes to beginning! something, anything! Just to let you know, that it always makes my mailbox sparkle when there’s a Turtle Dreams story to be read! thanks Maxine.

  2. maxinespence says:

    Aw shucks, Candy. Thank you! Your message is such a nice way to end the week. I’m going to shut off my computer right now and go do something creative! (And I’m tickled to think you might take ten minutes to do something creative yourself.)

Leave a Reply

