You are invited!

BookLaunchBanner

It is so exciting to be able to send out this invitation!

We’ve held the vision of a Mother’s Day weekend launch for months. I even asked Inez to book the library for us well before we knew if it was a go or not. I figured the more positive I could be around the event, the more likely it would be to happen.

And voila. Here we are – launching from the library!

(Have I ever mentioned how much I love my library?)

In January, Lyndsay and I created a newsletter to keep interested people updated on the progress of our book, Down in the Jungle. We discovered, after sending out several of them, that most of the intended recipients were not receiving them. We did our best to rectify that, but I was sad that the really cool stuff Lyndsay and I had shared about the process of creating the book had reached so few people.

Soooo . . . I decided that in the couple weeks leading up to the big launch, I would reprint them here.

Here’s an excerpt from our second newsletter.

A message from the author:

Have you ever heard the saying: “LIfe is what happens when you’ve made other plans”?

 Or how about this one:

 “Wanna make God laugh? Tell Him what you will or will not do.”

 There were many times in the wake of publishing Leaf that I said to myself (quite vehemently, I might add): “Never again. This is too hard. I’ll keep writing–maybe–but I’m not going to publish another book on my own again.”

And here we are, with Newsletter #2, filling you in on the details of the future publication of that second never-to-be-published book. The angels must be rolling in the aisles up there.

Lyndsay wants to share with you some of her process as she did the illustrations. That is way more interesting than hearing about the writing process, which can be reduced to the following: throw lots of words on the page, delete most of them, rearrange the rest and sleep with your thesaurus under your pillow.

So let’s talk about Lyndsay.

I recently shared the story of how she came to be the illustrator for Down in the Jungle. (You can read that here if you like.) I was very nervous the whole time she had my story and even more nervous after she said she’d do the illustrations. It was exciting that she said ‘yes,’ but what if her vision didn’t mesh with mine? What if she had moved on to a whole new style of painting that just didn’t work? What then?

 Worry is such a waste of time.

 Here are the preliminary sketches she sent me soon after she went off to ACAD:

Early_Sketches

A message from the illustrator:

When I was about 12 I purchased my first Wacom Pen Tablet, a copy of Photoshop, and set off to learn how to paint digitally. It has been a ten year journey to learn how to paint and draw directly into the computer, and I’m still learning how to do it properly. I have dabbled in acrylic, gouache, and watercolours, but digital painting is my true love and obsession.

 All the colours of Down in the Jungle are painted in through my tablet mouse-pen on a computer. The line-art was drawn in ink, on paper, and then scanned into my computer and coloured digitally.

 Digital painting is exactly the same as traditional painting with two key differences: you don’t hand-mix the paint, and the ‘original painting’ is non-existent. My tablet pen reacts to the angle and pressure of my paint-strokes, and the knowledge and use of colour theory is much the same.

 Below you can see my process as I develop the Arctic scene from Down in the Jungle. Knowing how the light source defines the forms of the animals is very important. This scene uses very few colours, but the introduction of rusty shadows provides warm contrast to the cool, iridescent Northern lights.

Arctic_1

Arctic_2

Arctic_3

 

This entry was posted in Creativity, On Writing, Self-publishing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

