Look What I Found!

I was sitting at my desk, staring sightlessly into space, when this came into focus (right beside one of my favorite cards – which makes me giggle as I write this because finding this mug is one of those little gifts our days are filled with that we tend to take for granted).

IMG_2570

I don’t remember where it came from (the mug – I know exactly who gifted me with the card). It was probably given to me.

It might be the one I got from the Library, filled with an assortment of tea and honey and a really cool little spoon, as a thank you for the time the Library was filled with students waiting for the authors who had mixed up their author visit days and weren’t coming after all and I offered to tell a couple stories so the long walk from the school to the library wasn’t a complete waste of time. [I remember how terrified I was, how unprepared I felt, and yet I still made the offer – another time when alien forces took over my body – and how fear cramped my brain part-way through one of the stories and I got totally lost and I looked at my son, Gabriel, sitting so proudly among his peers and he reminded me what came next and it was . . . lovely (in retrospect) and I was proud of myself for following the impulse that had risen up in me, feeling the fear that accompanied it, and doing it anyway.]

Yeah . . . so . . . it could have come from the library (have I ever mentioned how much I love my library?) and I think, despite its loveliness, I must have decided to use it as a pen holder because I already had a favorite mug.

Which recently developed a crack.

Which meant I needed a new mug.

And the whole time I was angsting about finding a replacement, there was one sitting on the shelf above my office desk, patiently waiting to be noticed.

How often do we go looking for _____(fill in the blank – a new trinket / love / answers / our life purpose) when everything we need is right there in front of us, often within us, waiting to be seen in a different light?

Look at the similarities in these mugs!

IMG_2574

They could be long-lost siblings.

The picture on the new one could also be a cherry, although it looks more like an app–oh my goodness! This is the second apple occurrence in a week! Remember the first one?

Perhaps these are subtle reminders of a half-finished project (one of the many I am attempting to clean up in my life) that stalled at Apple #37.

In any case, apples or cherries aside, I love the way this new mug looks and feels, the heft of it in my hand, the just-right width of its lip against mine. (Sound familiar?)

I’m sipping the perfect amount of chai from it as I write this and my beloved, long-serving mug now graces my office shelf, its usefulness transformed.

IMG_2579

Where once it brought comfort, now its beautiful crack lets in the light . . . of cherished memories (and treasures), of comfort, of appreciation . . .

. . . of inspiration.

This entry was posted in deep thoughts, Random Ramblings, simple pleasures and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Look What I Found!

  1. Yvonne says:

    This is so beautiful! The Upaguru at work. Whatever we believe we need, it is already right there. It is just waiting for us!

    Guru Om!!

    Yvonne

  2. Lorien says:

    I loved this Maxine! And I loved the little stories you wove into the main story–which is YAY, you have a mug, and YAY, you realize how blessed you are! Thank you for such a lovely reminder of the endless gifts, and thank you for the healthy dose of inspiration. Makes me want to make a cup of tea. 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    This is so lovely–and so true! And so glad to hear you are still enjoying that card . . .

    • maxinespence says:

      I definitely am, Laura. It’s a lovely reminder every day of the gifts in my life. I see you’re taking a break from your writing – I’m glad it was to read something you enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

